The Town That Floated Away

The Town That Floated Away

Book - 1997
Rate this:

Things are proceeding normally during the annual Spring Break in the town of Wellington (major industries: donuts, grapes and toy boats). Chunks of ice as big as bulldozers flow down the river and Madame Galosh, owner of the Galosh Boot Manufacturing Company, prepares to sell a boat-load of new rubber boots. At the same time, the lucky winner of the annual Spring Break Free Trip draw, Virginia Potts, is eager to embark on a long-awaited journey.

Clang! Clang! Clang! A bell rings in the town square and an amazing series of events unfolds: too much lemonade is consumed, there's a little too much enthusiasm for the pursuit of profit and the town fails to mark the age-old "Batten Down the Hatches" holiday - and the town of Wellington floats away. Ginny Potts is left behind, slowly shrinking from loneliness.

In the tradition of Roald Dahl, Sandra Birdsell's debut children's novel is outrageously delicious reading, a clear-eyed and often poignant child's-eye perspective on an adult world - where the adults are often the silly ones who don't always know what to do.

Based on a popular radio play written for CBC Radio that became a successful. Juno award-nominated CD, The Town That floated Away is fresh and lively children's entertainment.

Publisher: Toronto : HarperCollins, c1997
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9780002245456
0002245450
Branch Call Number: J/FIC/Birds 359401 1
Characteristics: 164 p. : ill
Additional Contributors: Flook, Helen

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations
  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top