Narrative Poems

Narrative Poems

Book - 1994
Average Rating:
Rate this:
C.S. Lewis enjoyed both stories and poetry. His narrative poems combine his gift in story-telling with his skills as a poet. The four pieces in this book are the only narrative poems by Lewis known to be in existence. The poems are full of Lewis's romantic imagination; they display his love and knowlege of classic mythology and his own mastery of the English language. Dymer (1926)* Launcelot (?early 1930s)* The Nameless Isle (1930)* The Queen of Drum (1938) 'Dymer' was begun by Lewis as a story in prose and the original idea had 'come to him' at the age of 17. It tells the story of a man who begets a monster. The monster kills his father and becomes a god. 'Launcelot' is based on the legend of King Arthur and the Holy Grail and 'The Nameless Isle' is the story of a shipwrecked mariner and his adventures on a magic island. 'The Queen of Drum' tells of an old pompous king and his young queen who eventually has to choose between heaven, hell and fairyland.
Publisher: London : Fount Paperbacks, 1994, c1969
ISBN: 9780006278375
Branch Call Number: 821/.912/Lewis 359401 1
Characteristics: xiv, 177 p. ; 20 cm
Additional Contributors: Hooper, Walter


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at WPL

To Top