The Gormenghast Novels

The Gormenghast Novels

Titus Groan, Gormenghast, Titus Alone

Book - 1995
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A doomed lord, an emergent hero, an array of bizarre creatures, and an ancient royal family plagued by madness and intrigue--these are the denizens of ancient, sprawling, tumbledown Gormenghast Castle. Within its vast halls and serpentine corridors, the members of the Groan dynasty and their master Lord Sepulchrave grow increasingly out of touch with a changing world as they pass their days in unending devotion to meaningless rituals and arcane traditions. Meanwhile, an ambitious kitchen boy named Steerpike rises by devious means to the post of Master of the Ritual while he maneuvers to bring down the Groans.In these extraordinary novels, Peake has created a world where all is like a dream: lush, fantastical, vivid; a symbol of dark struggle. Accompanying the text are Peake's own drawings, illustrating the whole assembly of strange creatures that inhibit Gormenghast.Breathtaking in its power and drenched in dark atmosphere, humor and intrigue, The Gormenghast Trilogy is a classic, one of the great works of 20th century British literature.
Publisher: Woodstock, N.Y. : Overlook Press, 1995
ISBN: 9780879516284
Branch Call Number: FIC Peake
Characteristics: ix, 1172 p. : ill. ; 21 cm
Alternative Title: Titus Groan
Titus alone


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Oct 19, 2012

These books captured my imagination years ago and continues to do so. Peake has created a dense, multi-layered, at times bizarre, fantasy classic. Listen to it in audio format if you can.

Apr 28, 2010

Great trilogy. Epic fantasy that some say is better than Lord of the Rings. Personally, I'm torn. This book is dense and detailed, much like a Dickens novel. It's a whole other world.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Apr 28, 2010

JPearce thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at WPL

To Top