State of the Union

State of the Union

A Thriller

Book - 2004
Average Rating:
Rate this:
America's worst nightmare has just become a brutal reality. The most unlikely terrorist enemy of all now holds a knife against the country's throat. With both diplomatic and conventional military options swept from the table, the president of the United States calls upon America's only hope, Navy SEAL turned Secret Service agent Scot Harvath.With the fragile peace between the world's nations shattered, Harvath must unravel a brilliantly orchestrated, fiendishly timed conspiracy intent upon bringing the United States to its knees. Teamed with beautiful Russian Intelligence agent Alexandra Ivanova and a highly trained CIA paramilitary detachment, Harvath races from the corridors of power in Washington, D.C., to the streets of Berlin, the coast of Finland, and into the heart of Mother Russia herself before returning home for a final showdown with an enemy from America's past more sinister and deadly than has ever been seen before....
Publisher: New York ; Toronto : Atria Books, 2004
Edition: 1st Atria Books hardcover ed. --
ISBN: 9780743436779
Branch Call Number: FIC Thor
Characteristics: 340 p


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jun 28, 2016

I rarely do not finish a book once started but this tale lost me by page 35. Brad needs a good editor to organize his writings.

Dec 26, 2015

Brad Thor’s Scott Harvath novels are loaded with action and State of the Union is no exception. The stakes are high with nuclear weapons in the hands of Russian terrorists. Can Harvath save the US? Of course, but it’s the journey that’s fun. My only complaint with this novel is that it’s too long. It could have been cut in half. If you like Thor then I’d suggest the late Vince Flynn. If you want a little more nuance and fewer good/bad characterizations then proceed to Alex Berenson.

Nov 26, 2015

For fans of Brad Thor and Scot Harvath, you will want to read this tightly written, well crafted novel. My only quibble is that the ending has no twist. I don't think this is a spoiler alert: bad guys caught, man gets girl. I think Thor needs to work a little harder on the ending because this was worth the journey, just not very satisfying on the destination. However, if you go into the book, knowing that cravat, you will still enjoy the journey.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at WPL

To Top