Gaudy Night

Gaudy Night

A Lord Peter Wimsey & Harriet Vane Mystery

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .
At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations.
But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.
Publisher: London, England : Hodder & Stoughton, 2003, c1935
ISBN: 9780450021541
0450021548
Branch Call Number: FIC Sayer
Characteristics: 564 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
Candaceb108
Mar 24, 2017

Great read, enjoy the poetry and prose quotes. It's a lost world, unfortunately. When bogged down, just read any article in the NY Times or Washington Post and after feel dizzy from the dangling participles and misplaced dependent clauses, then rejoice when you return to it.

m
miaone
Jul 15, 2014

If you've enjoyed Sayers' Strong Poison and Have His Carcase, the two previous novels about Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey, you'll probably love this one. If not, you probably won't. I've read it and re-read it and loved it each time. But of course I've been in love with Lord Peter Wimsey from the first novel I read with him as protagonist. His finding his true love after all the years, well, it's just too beautiful. The Oxford University verbosity is, of course, nurturing bread and wine for readers of Sayers' novels.

c
calvoer
Jul 14, 2014

Yes, it's a classic, but still readable? I broke under the weight of all that Oxford U verbosity and gave up halfway through. Much more enjoyable as a BBC minseries.

EuSei Oct 22, 2012

Book # 10

Icicle Aug 25, 2009

Dorothy Sayers was a brilliant woman - probably too brilliant to write fiction. Peter Wimsy is an amazing character - i only wish there were dozens more.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations
  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top