Ham

Ham

Slices of A Life : Essays & Stories

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
For fans of David Sedaris and Chelsea Handler, these stories and essays about friendship, celebrity, growing up and getting sober will have you laughing and crying in equal measure.

ham (noun) [h#65533;m]
1 the hind leg of a hog, salted, smoked, and cured
2 second son of Noah
3 somebody who performs in an exaggerated showy style
-always hamming it up

Just when you thought you knew everything about ham, you discover that ham is also:
4 a reason to laugh about everyday life, and
5 an irresistible collection of humorous essays from a man who was born to entertain us.

In sixteen brilliantly observed true stories, Sam Harris emerges as a natural humorist in league with David Sedaris, Chelsea Handler, Carrie Fisher, and Steve Martin, but with a voice uniquely his own. Praised by the Chicago Sun-Times for his "manic, witty commentary," and with a storytelling talent the New York Times calls "New Yorker- worthy," he puts a comedic spin on full-disclosure episodes from his own colorful life. What better place to find painfully funny material than in growing up gay, gifted, and ambitious in the heart of the Bible belt? And that's just the first cut: From partying to parenting, from Sunday school to getting sober, these slices of Ham will have you laughing and wiping away salty tears in equal measure with their universal and down-to-earth appeal. After all, there's a little ham in all of us.
Publisher: New York ; Toronto : Gallery Books, 2014
Edition: 1st Gallery Books hardcover ed. --
ISBN: 9781476733418
1476733414
Branch Call Number: 818.603 Harri
Characteristics: 290 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

redban Jun 10, 2015

Wow, came here to critique Sam Harris only to find this not the more-renowned Sam Harris (neuroscientist, New Atheist). Lame.

ktnv Jun 10, 2015

NO STARS...
Wrong Sam Harris.
Not worth reading this book.

gwycky May 06, 2014

I enjoy humorous memoirs, and thought I would enjoy this based on the description, and reviews. Maybe I expected too much, but I felt that this did not deliver.

I found the author to be more interested in name dropping and living up to an image than telling an interesting and honest story. From what I could tell he built a a caricature of himself rather than let the reader in, and by doing so built a wall that I couldn't get past as someone looking in.

f
frosty2
Mar 26, 2014

CRAP...TRASH....not worth reading, period.
(this Sam Harris is not the harris who wrote "letter to a Christian nation", suspect publisher did that on purpose)

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top