Death on the High Lonesome

Death on the High Lonesome

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Virgil knows that his sleepy hometown is starting to reflect the times, in good ways and bad. It still comes as a shock when his deputy is almost killed by the body of a woman falling from the highway overpass onto his car. A woman who had been fleeing for her life . . .

Then longtime resident Velma Thompson is found dead on her porch-her husband missing. To search for the man, Virgil saddles up and heads to the High Lonesome, the rugged mountains above their ranch. And on a wind-swept mesa, he'll find the first clues that point to a killer whose body count has only just begun . . .
Praise for Death at the Black Bull - 'Move over, Walt Longmire. There's a new sheriff in town. Virgil Dalton is the kind of character that comes along maybe once a decade-a classic Western hero and so much more. When you're done with Frank Hayes' stellar debut, Death at the Black Bull , you'll smell the sagebrush in the air and have to clean the dust off your boots. An absolute must-read for fans of Craig Johnson and Tony Hillerman.' Reed Farrel Coleman, Shamus Award-winning author of The Hollow Girl

'This is one of the most impressive debut crime novels I've ever read. There's such depth and humanity in the characters, such tension in the story itself, and the sense of place is as good as it gets. I know I'll be reading every book in this series!' Steve Hamilton, Edgar Award-winning author of Let It Burn

'Virgil Dalton takes no prisoners in Hayes's satisfying debut novel, and fans of Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire will cheer the sheriff's desire to protect his town. With its strong sense of place, this series launch will also keep fans of Western mysteries enthralled.' Library Journal

'Hayes's strong debut introduces a complex and likable lawman . . . readers will want to see a lot more of Virgil and friends.' Publishers Weekly

'Hayes is a skillful storyteller and a deft hand at witty dialogue.' Booklist
Publisher: New York :, Berkley Prime Crime,, 2015
Edition: Berkley Prime Crime trade paperback edition
ISBN: 9780425274309
0425274306
Branch Call Number: FIC Hayes
Characteristics: 293 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
athena14
Jan 10, 2016

A bit too much banter for me.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top